real-nutrition-nyc

Allow me to digest (recap)

In Wedding on January 17, 2011 at 9:53 pm

Hi, readers. I hope you are all well rested and ready to take on the work week. I start school this week and I am excited for another *thrilling* semester. 😉

On Sunday, I woke up to a beautiful morning and attended church. It was a wonderful sermon with many great points. I was reminded that “the fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom”…that it’s not a threat or burden to fear God. This obligation sounds oppressive with no self-benefit but it is in fact the opposite. Doing the right thing is replying positively to our inner compass which leads to peace and joy. Thus the point of: fear=wisdom. I personally like gaining more wisdom, don’t you? Second, our human nature loves celebration. I mean, who doesn’t like a party? I was reminded in the message to always live joyfully each day, celebrating life/to be alive. In the Christian term, we call it jubilee. Jubilee is the art of celebration…with others. I agree that I am most happiest when I am spending time with loved ones and friends…rather than being alone in isolation. God desires us to be united with Him. So this deal: being UNITED, whether with loved ones or God…love and joy are experienced 🙂

On a side note, my church is located at the World Trade Center building on the 40th floor. It exhibits the most breathtaking views of Manhattan.

(a behind pic of my friend Jenn great name 😉 and a proper photo with her) Anyway, afterwards, we met more friends to have lunch at Il Corallo Trattoria in the village. This unpretentious, quaint restaurant serves a plethoa of pasta dishes and brick oven pizza, all made from scratch. They also provided us with very humble and efficient service. Here are pics of the cute decor of the restaurant. We started off with delicious slices of fresh baked bread and carrot soup…

Afterward, we proceeded to our entrees. Everyone indubitably ordered pastas which we shared. Every dish was scrumptious and I grade this restaurant with an: A+ for its decor, ambiance, service, quality, and taste. 🙂

Here is my plate (my first round…I did go into seconds and thirds)

Here is the gang: We continued our ‘jubilee’ 😉 to coffee across the street:

After some digesting, we said our goodbyes and my friend Janet and I had a couple of hours to kill before dinner plans that evening. We looked at each other in the eye and both knew we wanted to bite into something tasty for an afternoon snack…thus walking a few blocks to Soho to Grandaisy Bakery. We both took advantage of the free samples of the bread pudding, walnut loaf, and cranberry corn cakes. Ultimately, the bread pudding was surely the winner. I also coveted a bowl of frozen yogurt so we ventured another block east to TastiDiLite. I ordered french vanilla+dutch chocolate froyo with blueberries.

Subsequently, we ventured our way up to the upper east side where our friends Mike and Karl were kind enough to invite us for dinner. We brought some cabernet and chardonnay with us. The dinner was a culmination of the boys’ not-so-hard work. They invited us over last minute and whipped up this lovely dinner in just a couple of hours.

On the menu: slow roasted beef w/ herbs and veggies, deviled eggs, baked sweet potato, and Karl’s salad that consisted of pears and avocados with a homemade tangy vinaigrette. I mean, can I say WOW! The meal was delish. By the way, readers, they offered to do this once every month so you can expect a lovely meal from my blog at least once a month 😉 Thank you x2 Karl and Mike! Well, that concludes my Sunday. Some foods were unpictured folks and I forgot to take pics. Goodnight!

  1. Jenn Tasti D-Lite is MY FAVORITE!!!! I can’t wait to move so I can enjoy it everyday 🙂

  2. What an amazing view!! I had tasti d-lite almost every night when I was in NYC 🙂

  3. Love all of your food pictures! I’ve never been to NY, let’s see… the closest I’ve been is the Minneapolis airport… or Alabama. Yeah. 🙂

  4. mmm Grandaisy Bakery is so good. That looks like such a fun weekend!

  5. Beautiful view and beautiful post! I remember when I lived in NYC for a short time – I loved the view outside my window 🙂

    Looks like you enjoyed some good food! I especially like that carrot soup, yum 🙂

  6. Oh my goodness the food looks absolutely amazing and that view is just breath taking. I am now following you as well.

    xo

  7. You made some decent points there. I did a search on the subject and found most guys will go along with with your blog.

  8. Couldnt agree more with that, very attractive article

  9. Couldnt agree more with that, very attractive article

  10. There are definitely quite a lot of particulars like that to take into consideration. That is a nice level to deliver up. I supply the thoughts above as common inspiration however clearly there are questions like the one you carry up the place an important factor will probably be working in sincere good faith. I don?t know if finest practices have emerged around issues like that, however I am sure that your job is clearly identified as a good game. Each girls and boys really feel the influence of only a second?s pleasure, for the rest of their lives.

Leave a Reply

