real-nutrition-nyc

$1.42 per meal “Living on a Food Stamp Budget”

In Wedding on January 29, 2011 at 11:55 am

In my Politics of Nutrition class, I am to assess if the federal food stamp program can alleviate the hunger and malnutrition issues. I will adhere to the challenge “Living on a Food Stamp Budget” with an allotment of $30.00 for 7 days ($1.42 per meal) and evaluate the effectiveness of the program, whether one can truly meet nutritional needs, etc. I am required to print grocery receipts of my purchases and maintain a food log. Join me as I will document this challenge next week on the blog.

Hunger is a real problem in New York state. Food pantries and soup kitchens across the state are experiencing record demands. Hunger affects people of all ages, from children who attend school each day with empty stomachs, to seniors who struggle to afford food on fixed incomes. The population in NYC is 8.2 mil, with 19% living in poverty (1.5mil). What’s more, children represent 28% of that 1.5 mil (521,398).

I must plan my meals accordingly as I am not allowed to buy pre-made packaged foods or order in. I am guessing that the menu for each day will be repetitive and boring but that’s ok. Low cost meal ideas thus far: egg salad sandwiches, pb&j, canned goods… (goodbye fresh sushi and produce :()

Anyway, here’s what I’ve been munching on lately: some nuts and chocolate while watching a movie (hence, dark photo)   a pecan frosting cupcake I picked up in honor of ‘snowed-in-no-school day’ I ❤ cupcakes, salad….before the cupcake 😉 sushi & sashimi (I can’t do this next week!)

post gym fuel,   a carrot cake loaf I picked up at the farmer’s market (along with squash, apples, and potatoes),

and sourdough bread+cream cheese+smoked salmon snack.

Finally, ever since the operation of this blog, I have been receiving free products, coupons, and restaurant invitations for review. Thank you! Here is my first nutritional review of Gorge Delights: Just Fruit Bars http://www.gorgedelights.com/index.cfm?category=14 I LOVE THESE BARS. I recommend these bars. They are 100% all natural and contain only one ingredient (the pureed fruit itself). 90 calories, loads of natural vitamins and no chemicals/additives, they are a great snack to carry around always. They come in 30 different flavors with a 2 year shelf life! It’s like a larabar but with a more gooey, chewy, dense texture. I tried the pear and I cannot wait to sample the other flavors. I usually prefer real fruit instead of fruit juices or bars for satiety, but one single serving of these bars is just as filling as one serving of real fruit  (from my personal experience) Grade: A

  1. That is SO bizarre. Literally right before I went online I was thinking about doing a Poverty Series on my blog in which I try to eat on a very strict budget to see how possibly is it to eat healthy in NYC when living in poverty. Glad you are sharing your experience living on a food stamp budget!

  2. Wow, super commendable that you’re doing this experiment (even if it is for a class). I don’t think I would succeed. It’s scary how many of our neighbors do not have enough good food to eat. Good luck! I can’t wait to read about your results/experiences doing it.

  3. Wow that sounds like quite the challenge. I am interested and will definitely be looking forward to your posts. It’s easy to overlook the fact that I don’t have to worry about “food security” and doing a challenge like this one would surely allow me to appreciate the fact that I have so much freedom when it comes to choosing what I eat. Good luck!

  4. Wow, that sounds like such an interesting project. Your eats look soooo good!! Looking at the sushi makes me miss it so much… we don’t exactly have fresh fish in this land-locked country 😦

Leave a Reply

